ITIL Foundation Certification is an internationally recognized certification that provides an understanding of IT service management and the ITIL best practices framework. It is designed to help organizations improve their IT service delivery and management processes. The certification is awarded by the ITIL Certification Body, which is the accreditation body responsible for setting the standards for ITIL certification. The ITIL Foundation is the entry-level certification for ITIL and provides an understanding of the ITIL framework and how it can be used to improve IT service delivery. The certification focuses on the core concepts of IT service management, including service design, service transition, service operation, and continual service improvement. It also covers the ITIL processes and functions, such as incident management, problem management, change management, and configuration management.


Set of practices for the development, management and support of Information Technology (IT).

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is a set of detailed practices for IT activities such as IT service management (ITSM) and IT asset management (ITAM) that focus on aligning IT services with business needs.

ITIL describes processes, procedures, tasks and checklists that are neither organization-specific nor technology-specific, but can be applied by an organization towards strategy, delivering value and maintaining a minimum level of competence. It allows the organization to establish a baseline from which it can plan, implement and measure. It is used to demonstrate compliance and to measure improvement. There is no formal independent third-party compliance assessment available for ITIL compliance in an organization. ITIL certification is only available to individuals. Since 2013, ITIL has been owned by AXELOan consortium in between capital and the UK Cabinet.


Responding to growing reliance on IT, the UK Government Central Information Technology and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) in the 1980s developed a set of recommendations aimed at standardizing IT management practices across all government functions, built around a process modelvision based on control and management of operations, often credited to W. Edwards Deming it’s him plan-do-check-act (PDCA) cycle.

  • In April 2001, the CCTA was incorporated into the Government Commerce Office (OGC), an office of the uk treasury.
  • In 2001, the ITIL Version 2 glossary was published.
  • In May 2007, this organization released ITIL Version 3 (also known as the ITIL Refresh Project) comprising 26 processes and functions, now grouped into just 5 volumes, organized around the concept of a service lifecycle structure. ITIL Version 3 is now known as ITIL 2007 Edition.
  • In 2009, the OGC officially announced that ITIL Version 2 certification would be withdrawn and launched a large consultation on how to proceed.
  • Version 4 of ITIL was released in February 2019. The main changes were: considering edge service management from holistic and value-centric perspectives, aligning with philosophies such as Agile, DevOps and Lean, and reducing the emphasis on IT service management in favor of Service Management in general.

In 2009 and 2011, researchers investigated the benefits of implementing ITIL.

See too


External Links

authority control: National Libraries Edit this on Wikidata

Source: ITIL

Video about Information Technology Infrastructure Library Itil Foundation Certification

Information Technology Infrastructure Library | ITIL Certification | Introduction to ITIL | Part 1

Question about Information Technology Infrastructure Library Itil Foundation Certification

If you have any questions about Information Technology Infrastructure Library Itil Foundation Certification, please let us know, all your questions or suggestions will help us improve in the following articles!

The article Information Technology Infrastructure Library Itil Foundation Certification was compiled by me and my team from many sources. If you find the article Information Technology Infrastructure Library Itil Foundation Certification helpful to you, please support the team Like or Share!

Rate Articles ITIL

Rate: 4-5 stars
Ratings: 7754
Views: 68275039

Search keywords Information Technology Infrastructure Library Itil Foundation Certification

1. Service Management
2. ITIL Framework
3. IT Service Delivery
4. Process Improvement
5. Incident Management
6. Change Management
7. Problem Management
8. Service Desk
9. Configuration Management
10. Availability Management